Land Acknowledgements with Pronunciations

Treaty 6

The Alberta Teachers' Association respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 6 territory—the travelling route, gathering place and meeting grounds for Indigenous Peoples, including the Nehiyaw (Ne-hee-yo), Denesuliné (De-ne-soo-leh-nay), Siksikaitsitapi (Sik-sik-aye-sit-a-pee), Nakota Sioux (Na-koh-da Soo), Anishinaabe (Ah-nish-nah-bey), Haudenosaunee (Hoh-de-noh-shoh-nee), Métis Otipemisiwak (May-tee Oh-tih-pem-soo-wuk) and Esikisimu Nunangat (Ee-see-kee-see-mu Nu-na-nat), whose histories, languages, cultures and traditions continue to influence our vibrant community. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

Treaty 7

The Alberta Teachers' Association respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 7 territory—the travelling route, gathering place and meeting grounds for Indigenous Peoples, including the Siksikaitsitapi (Sik-sik-aye-sit-a-pee), comprised of the Siksika (Sik-sik-a), Kainai (Gay-nah), Piikani (Pee-gun-ee), Amskapi Piikani (Ahm-skah-pee Pee-gun-nee) First Nations; the Tsuut'ina (Soot-inna) First Nation; and the Îyârhe Nakoda (Ae-yar-hay Na-koh-da), including the Chiniki (Chin-ih-kee), Bearspaw (Bears-paw) and Goodstoney (Good-stone-ee) First Nations, Métis Otipemisiwak (May-tee Oh-tih-pem-soo-wuk) and Esikisimu Nunangat (Ee-see-kee-see-mu Nu-na-nat), whose histories, languages, cultures and traditions continue to influence our vibrant community. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

Treaty 8

The Alberta Teachers' Association respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 8 territory—the travelling route, gathering place and meeting grounds for Indigenous Peoples, including the Nehiyaw (Ne-hee-yo), Denesuhiné (De-ne-soo-leh-nay), Dene Tha' (De-ne-tha), Dane-zaa (De-ne-za), Métis Otipemisiwak (May-tee Oh-tih-pem-soo-wuk) and Esikisimu Nunangat (Ee-see-kee-see-mu Nu-na-nat), whose histories, languages, cultures and traditions continue to influence our vibrant community. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

General Land Acknowledgement (used for large or virtual events)

The Alberta Teachers' Association respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 4, 6, 7, 8 and 10 territories—the travelling route, gathering place and meeting grounds for Indigenous Peoples, including the Siksikaitsitapi (Sik-sik-aye-sit-a-pee), comprised of the Siksika (Sik-sik-a), Kainai (Gay-nah), Piikani (Pee-gun-ee), Amskapi Piikani (Ahm-skah-pee Pee-gun-nee) First Nations; the Tsuut'ina (Soot-inna) First Nation; and the Îyârhe Nakoda (Ae-yar-hay Na-koh-da), including the Chiniki (Chin-ih-kee), Bearspaw (Bears-paw) and Goodstoney (Goodstone-ee) First Nations; and the Nehiyaw (Ne-hee-yo), Denesuliné (De-ne-soo-leh-nay), Dene Tha' (De-ne-tha), Dane-zaa (De-ne-za), Nakota Sioux (Na-koh-da Soo), Anishinaabe (Ah-nish-nah-bey), Haudenosaunee (Hoh-de-noh-shoh-nee), Métis Otipemisiwak (May-tee Oh-tih-pem-soo-wuk) and Esikisimu Nunangat (Ee-see-kee-see-mu Nu-na-nat), whose histories, languages, cultures and traditions continue to influence our vibrant community. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

Combined Treaty 4 and Treaty 7

The Alberta Teachers' Association respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 7 territory and situated closely to Treaty 4 territory—the travelling route, gathering place and meeting grounds for Indigenous Peoples, including the Siksikaitsitapi (Sik-sik-aye-sit-a-pee), comprised of the Siksika (Sik-sik-a), Kainai (Gay-nah), Piikani (Pee-gun-ee), Amskapi Piikani (Ahm-skah-pee Pee-gun-nee) First Nations; the Tsuut'ina (Soot-inna) First Nation; and the Îyârhe Nakoda (Ae-yar-hay Na-koh-da), including the Chiniki (Chin-ih-kee), Bearspaw (Bears-paw) and Goodstoney (Good-stone-ee) First Nations; and Nehiyaw (Ne-hee-yo), Anishinaabe (Ah-nish-nah-bey), Nakota, Lakota, Dakota, Métis Otipemisiwak (May-tee Oh-tih-pem-soo-wuk) and Esikisimu Nunangat (Ee-see-kee-see-mu Nu-na-nat), whose histories, languages, cultures and traditions continue to influence our vibrant community. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.

Combined Treaty 6 and Treaty 7

The Alberta Teachers' Association respectfully acknowledges that we are located on Treaty 6 territory and situated closely to Treaty 7 territory—the travelling route, gathering place and meeting grounds for Indigenous Peoples, including the Nehiyaw (Ne-hee-yo), Denesuliné (Dene-soo-leh-nay), Nakota Sioux (Na-koh-da Soo), Anishinaabe (Ah-nish-nah-bey), Haudenosaunee (Hoh-de-noh-shoh-nee), Siksikaitsitapi (Sik-sik-aye-sit-a-pee), comprised of the Siksika (Sik-sik-a), Kainai (Gay-nah), Piikani (Pee-gun-ee), Amskapi Piikani (Ahm-skah-pee Pee-gun-nee) First Nations; the Tsuut'ina (Soot-inna) First Nation; and the Îyârhe Nakoda (Ae-yar-hay Na-koh-da), including the Chiniki (Chin-ih-kee), Bearspaw (Bears-paw) and Goodstoney (Good-stone-ee) First Nations, Métis Otipemisiwak (May-tee Oh-tih-pem-soo-wuk) and Esikisimu Nunangat (Ee-see-kee-see-mu Nu-na-nat), whose histories, languages, cultures and traditions continue to influence our vibrant community. We are grateful for the traditional Knowledge Keepers and Elders who are still with us today and those who have gone before us. We recognize the land as an act of reconciliation and gratitude to those whose territory we reside on or are visiting.