Calendar

May 21, 2010

For a complete listing of events, consult the Conference Calendar or contact Barnett House. Telephone: 780-447-9400 in Edmonton or 1-800-232-7208 from elsewhere in Alberta. This information is also posted on the Alberta Teachers’ Association website (www.teachers.ab.ca). Prior to attending a conference or workshop, please contact the sponsoring organization to confirm dates, locale and contacts.

July 5–9
Educational Leadership ACADEMY, Barnett House, Edmonton, Alberta. Sponsor: Provincial ATA. Contact: Konni deGoeij, Associate Coordinator-Administrator Assistance. Telephone: 780-447-9472; fax: 780-455-6481; e-mail: konni.degoeij@ata.ab.ca. Contact: Leslie Kaun, Administrative Officer. Telephone: 780-447-9410; fax: 780-455-6481; e-mail: leslie.kaun@ata.ab.ca; website: www.teachers.ab.ca.

August 9–13
Summer Conference, Banff, Alberta. Sponsor: Provincial ATA. Contact: Jacquie Skytt, Assistant Executive Secretary. Telephone: 780-447-9412; fax: 780-455-6481; e-mail: jacquie.skytt@ata.ab.ca; website: www.teachers.ab.ca.

August 16–20
Healthy Interactions Facilitator Training Workshop, Barnett House, Edmonton, Alberta. Sponsor: Provincial ATA. Contact: Joyce Sherwin, Executive Staff Officer. Telephone: 780-447-9453; fax: 780-455-6481; e-mail: joyce.sherwin@ata.ab.ca. Contact: Brian Andrais, Executive Staff Officer. Telephone: 780-447-9439; fax: 780-455-6481; e-mail: brian.andrais@ata.ab.ca; website: www.teachers.ab.ca.

October 1–3
Outreach Education Council conference, Marriott River Cree Resort, Enoch, Alberta. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Outreach Education Council. Contact: Kim Webb, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 780-482-1407; fax: 780-451-6077; e-mail: conference@outreachcouncil.ca. Antoinette Wilson, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 780-437-8119; fax: 780-437-8190; e-mail: conference@outreachcouncil.ca; website: www.outreachcouncil.ca.

October 14–16
Special Education Council conference, Delta Lodge, Kananaskis, Alberta. Theme: “Celebrating the Challenges 2010.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Special Education Council. Contact: Hayley Christen, Conference Director. Telephone: 403-343-3288; fax: 403-342-4268; e-mail: hchristen@rdpsd.ab.ca; website: www.specialeducation.ab.ca.

October 15–17
Religious and Moral Education Council conference. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Religious and Moral Education Council. Contact: Janice Bilyk, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 780-352-4677; fax: 780-352-7042; e-mail: janice.bilyk@starcatholic.ab.ca. Michael Marien, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 780-986-2500; fax: 780-986-8620; e-mail: michael.marien@starcatholic.ab.ca; website: http://rmec.teachers.ab.ca.

October 15–17
Social Studies Council conference, Fairmont Jasper Park Lodge, Jasper, Alberta. Theme: “Social Justice in a Digital Age.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Social Studies Council.
Contact: Roger Doucet, Conference Codirector. E-mail: doucetr@lrsd.ab.ca; website: http://ssc.teachers.ab.ca.

October 22–24
Mathematics Council Conference, Coast Plaza Hotel and Conference Centre, Calgary, Alberta. Theme: “The Joy is in the Journal.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Mathematics Council. Contact: Rod Lowry, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 403-653-1285; 403-653-1285; e-mail: rod.lowry@westwind.ab.ca. David Martin, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 403-342-4800; fax: 403-343-2249; e-mail: martind@rdcrd.ab.a; website: http://mcata.teachers.ab.ca.

October 22–24
Council on School Administration conference, Edmonton, Alberta. Theme: “WCEAC 2010.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Council on School Administration. Contact: Garnet Goertzen, President. Telephone: 780-459-3990; fax: 780-460-2565; e-mail: garnetg@gmail.com; website: www.wceac.org.

October 29–31
Second Languages and Intercultural Council Conference, Grant MacEwan University College, Robbins Health Learning Centre, Edmonton, Alberta. Theme: “Languages 2.0—Discover Connect Engage.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Intercultural and Second Languages Council. Contact: Sherri Johnston, Conference Director. Telephone: 780-417-8172; fax: 780-417-8183; e-mail: sherri.johnston@ei.educ.ab.ca. Wai-Ling Lennon, President. Telephone: 780-455-6171, ext 205; fax: 780-455-8203; e-mail: joelenn@telus.net; website: http://slic.teachers.ab.ca.

November 5–7
Early Childhood Education Council Conference, Fantasyland Hotel, Edmonton, Alberta. Theme: “Make It Real—Connect the World.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Early Childhood Education Council. Contact: Cynthia Prasow, President. Telephone: 403-220-6288; fax: 403-282-8479; e-mail: cprasow@ucalgary.ca; website: http://ecec.teachers.ab.ca.

November 5–7
English as a Second Language Council Conference, Banff, Alberta. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and English as a Second Language Council. Contact: Marta Albertin, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 403-500-2575; e-mail: marta.albertin@cssd.ab.ca. Allison Scott Davies, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 403-500-2097; fax: 403-500-2297; e-mail: allison.davies@cssd.ab.ca; website: http://eslc.teachers.ab.ca.

November 12–14
Fine Arts Council Conference, Alberta. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Fine Arts Council. Website: http://fac.teachers.ab.ca.

November 15–16
Leadership Essentials for Administrators Conference, Edmonton, Alberta. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Council on School Administration. Contact: Mark Yurick, ATA Executive Staff Officer. Telephone: 780-447-9475; fax: 780-455-6481; e-mail: mark.yurick@ata.ab.ca.

November 19–21
Guidance Council Conference, Alberta. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Guidance Council. Contact: Jodie Lynda-Ann Mattia, President. Telephone: 780-352-3782; fax: 780-352-3765; e-mail: mattiaj@wrps.ab.ca; website: http://www.guidancecouncil.ca.

November 19–21
Le Conseil français conference, Alberta. Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Le Conseil français. Contact: Sarah Aylard, Directrice du Congrès. E-mail: sjaylard@cbe.ab.ca. Alyre Morin, Président. Telephone: 780-465-8740; e-mail: amorin@shaw.ca; website: http://cf.teachers.ab.ca.

November 19–21
Science Council Conference, Edmonton, Alberta. Theme: “Energy ... Where We’ve Been, Where We Are, Where We Are Going.” Sponsors: Provincial ATA and Science Council. Contact: Sandy Campbell, Conference Codirector. E-mail: sandy.campbell@plrd.ab.ca. Chris Gibbon, Conference Codirector. Telephone: 403-854-3642; fax: 403-854-4759; e-mail: chris.gibbon@plrd.ab.ca; website: website: http://sc.teachers.ab.ca.

Also In This Issue