The Alberta Teachers' Association Educational Research Award, valued at $5,000, is presented annually to a faculty of education member or sessional lecturer at an Alberta university or at a university college that the Association recognizes who has undertaken high quality research on classroom teaching and learning.

CriteriaTop of page

To qualify for an award, the research must meet the following criteria:

  • Be directly related to school and classroom practice.
  • Be focused on school teaching and/or learning.
  • Be current (either ongoing or completed within the last two years).
  • Be related to critical issues.
  • Have involved classroom teachers and/or students.
  • Be applicable to the Alberta context.
  • Be of practical benefit to teachers in improving their professional practice.
  • Be of high quality in terms of purpose, methodology and originality.

The researcher(s) must also be prepared to present the research to Association subgroups.

Selection and Announcement of RecipientTop of page

A selection panel consisting of five educators (four Association representatives and one retired faculty of education professor) will meet in late spring or early summer to review the applications and to select a potential recipient. The panel will forward the name to the ATA's Table Officers Committee, which makes the final decision. The name of the winner is announced in a press release and in the ATA News. The Association also informs its specialist councils and convention associations of the award and encourages universities to publicize the event.

Applying for an Educational Research AwardTop of page

To apply for an Educational Research Award, fill out an Application Form, print it out, sign it and attach a detailed description of the research as specified on the application form. Send the application to the following address:
Dr Lindsay Yakimyshyn, Administrative Officer
The ATA Educational Research Award
The Alberta Teachers' Association
11010 142 Street NW
Edmonton AB T5N 2R1

The deadline for applying for an Educational Research Award is May 15, 2018.

For Further InformationTop of page

Further information about the award can be obtained by contacting Dr J-C Couture by email at or by phone at 780-447-9462 (in Edmonton) or 1-800-232-7208 (elsewhere in Alberta).

Previous Award RecipientsTop of page

2017 Dr Jo Towers. Mathematics, Experiences, Images and Identities. University of Calgary. 
2016 Dr Diane Conrad and Dr Dwayne Donald. The Indigenous Students: A Youth Exchange through Arts and Technology—Stories of Culture, Identity, Community and Place. University of Alberta.
2015 Dr Darren Lund. Social Justice at the Heart of Public Education: CTF Monogram and the Service-Learning Program. University of Calgary.
2014 Dr Bonnie Shapiro. Engaging Teachers in Semiotic Readings of Environmental Messages in Teaching and Learning Settings. University of Calgary.
2013 Christopher Gilham. From Segregation to Inclusion: Seeing Students with Code 42 Designation as Capable. University of Calgary.
2012 Dr Lynne Wiltse. Drawing on Students' Funds of Knowledge to Improve School Literacies for Aboriginal Youth
2011 Dr Robert Klassen. Teacher Efficacy Across Career Stages. University of Alberta.
2010 Dr Florence Glanfield, Dr Dwayne Donald and Dr Gladys Sterenberg. Developing a Shared Understanding Among Community, School Staff and Children to Improve Mathematics Performance in a First-Nation School. University of Alberta.
2009 Dr Bonnie Shapiro. Research on Help-Seeking and Help-Giving in Science and Environmental Education: Implications for the Construction of Social, Physical and Cultural Environments that Encourage Learning. University of Calgary.
2008 Dr George Richardson, Dr Ingrid Johnston, Dr Terry Carson and Dwayne Donald. The Diversity Institute: A Collaborative Action Research Project in Pre-Service Teacher Education at the University of Alberta. University of Alberta.
2007 Dr Jim Parsons and Dr Phil McRae. Celebrating School Improvement. University of Alberta.
2006 Dr José da Costa. Full-Day Kindergarten: Longitudinal Effects Through to Grade 3. University of Alberta.
2005 Dr Michael Emme and Dr Anna Kirova. Helping Newcomers to Learn About Schooling in Canada: Visual Resources for Exploring Life in the New School. University of Alberta.
2004 Dr Darren Lund. Building Capacity Among School Diversity Activists. University of Calgary.
2003 Dr André Grace. Welfare-and-Work Issues for LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgendered Teachers in Canada: Legislative, Legal and Educational Policy Contexts Impacting Their Personal Lives and Professional Practices. University of Alberta.
2002 Dr David Geoffrey Smith. Teaching in Global Times. University of Alberta.
2001 Dr Fern Snart, Dr José da Costa, Dr Margaret L Haughey, Karen P Bardy, Susan R Bell, Sandra M Carl-Townsend and Dorothy A Mulgrew. The Small Class Size Project. University of Alberta.
2000 Dr Joyce Bainbridge. Canadian Children’s Literature in the Classroom. University of Alberta.
1999 Dr David Jardine, Dr Annette LaGrange, Sharon Friesen and Dr Patricia Clifford. Reconceptualizing “Back to Basics” Through an Interpretive Study of the Work of Teachers and Children in an Elementary School Setting. University of Calgary.
1998 Dr A Craig Loewen. Teaching with Meaning in the Mathematics Classroom: The Role of the Algorithm. University of Lethbridge.
1997 Dr Roberta McKay and Dr Katherine Willson. Integrating Language Arts with Mathematics: A School-Based Methods Course Linking Language Arts and Mathematics. University of Alberta & Edmonton Catholic School District 7.