Second Languages and Intercultural Council

Upcoming Conference(s)

There are no upcoming conferences currently scheduled.

Link to Second Languages and Intercultural Council website

Objectives

The Second Languages and Intercultural Council (SLIC) enables Alberta teachers to become more aware of the issues of culture and second languages and acts through the Association as an advocate for the advancement and promotion of second languages and intercultural education.

Activities

The SLIC seeks to enhance the knowledge, skills and understanding of teachers in the areas of second languages and culture studies by (1) providing preservice and inservice education, (2) disseminating information about existing practices, programs and resources in second languages and intercultural education and (3) encouraging research into innovative practices, programs and resources in second languages and intercultural education.

The SLIC provides advice and expertise to the Association on learning and working conditions, curricula and teacher preparation related to second languages and intercultural education.

The SLIC also organizes an annual conference to give teachers of second languages and intercultural education an opportunity to network and to share ideas and knowledge about their specialty.

Publications

The SLIC publishes the Zephyr newsletter and the Notos journal.

Council Fees

 

Category Fee
Regular Membership $30
Student Membership $0
Life Membership $30
Subscriptions $50

Contact information for the executive members of the Second Languages and Intercultural Council is provided to assist the ATA in conducting its professional and business affairs.


Second Languages and Intercultural Council



Council Executive

President
Diana Boisvert
Phone (bus): 780-532-9421 
diana.boisvert14@gmail.com
Secretary
Julie Marko
Phone (bus): 780-435-3734 
julie.marko@epsb.ca
 
Treasurer
Melissa Potestio
Phone (bus): 780-973-5957 
melissa.potestio@outlook.com
Editor, Zephyr
Jessie Krefting
Phone (bus): 780-571-0057 
jkrefting@psd70.ab.ca
 
Editor, Notos
Megan Senechal
Phone (bus): 780-717-0693 
megan.senechal@gmail.com
ATA Staff Advisor
Ihor Kruk
Phone (bus): 780-447-9483 OR 1-800-232-7208 
Fax: 780-455-6481
ihor.kruk@ata.ab.ca
 
PEC Liaison
Heide Doppmeier
Phone (bus): 403-226-2009 
heide.doppmeier@ata.ab.ca