Health and Physical Education Council

Link to Health and Physical Education Council website

Objectives

The Health and Physical Education Council (HPEC) advocates for health and physical education in Alberta's schools.

Activities

HPEC provides assistance to members so that they may improve curriculum and instruction through increased knowledge and understanding. The Council studies health and physical education issues and prepares professional responses and also networks with other agencies with common objectives.

The Council holds drive-in workshops throughout the province that offer a potpourri of health and physical education sessions. The Council also sponsors professional development grants from a donation fund called the Friends of HPEC. The annual conference is held in the spring and features practical and theoretical sessions related to all areas of health and physical education for all grade levels.

In addition, HPEC coordinates the Schools Come Alive Project, which provides support, leadership resources and workshops relating to active living and physical education.

Publications

The HPEC publishes the E-Sprinter e-newsletter and the Runner journal.

Council Fees

Category Fee
Regular Membership $35
Student Membership $0
Life Membership $35
Subscriptions $37

Contact information for the executive members of the Health and Physical Education Council is provided to assist the ATA in conducting its professional and business affairs.


Health and Physical Education Council



Council Executive

President
Nadeen Halls
Phone (bus): 403-466-5279 
ndhalls@cbe.ab.ca
Secretary
Dustin Turner
Phone (bus): 403-975-3664 
dsturner@cbe.ab.ca
 
Treasurer
Kim Bates
Phone (bus): 403-710-9930 
kimbates@cbe.ab.ca
Social Media
Collin Dillon
Phone (bus): 780-560-0336 
collindillon1988@gmail.com
 
Editor, Sprinter
Sonia Sheehan
Phone (bus): 403-241-7400 
Fax: 403-258-2701
sonia.sheehan@ffca-calgary.com
ATA Staff Advisor
Fred Kreiner
Phone (bus): 780-447-9400 OR 1-800-232-7208 
Fax: 780-455-6481
fred.kreiner@ata.ab.ca
 
ATA Ever Active Schools Liaison
Nancy Luyckfassel
Phone (bus): 780-998-3355 OR 1-800-232-7208 
nancy.luyckfassel@ata.ab.ca
PEC Liaison
Robert Twerdoclib
Phone (bus): 780-963-7431 
Fax: 780-963-5212
robert.twerdoclib@ata.ab.ca

Upcoming Conference(s)

There are no upcoming conferences currently scheduled.