Educational Technology Council

Link to Educational Technology Council website.


The objective of the Educational Technology Council (ETC) of the Alberta Teachers’ Association is to support teachers in using technology to enhance teaching and learning.


The ETC is committed to providing service, support, professional development and recognition for its members through teamwork, effective communication and an excellent annual conference. The ETC provides its membership with

  • service and support through professional development opportunities;
  • effective communication through an informative newsletter, listserv and dynamic website; and
  • an authoritative voice on behalf of the teaching profession through the advocacy of sound educational policies relating to information and communication technology infusion and emerging technologies.

In addition, the ETC offers two awards to experienced teachers:

  • The Innovative Computer Project Grant, which supports innovative projects involving technology in education
  • The Edna Dach Educator of the Year Award, which recognizes an outstanding teacher in the field of educational technology


The ETC publishes the Bits and Bytes e-newsletter.

Council Fees


Category Fee
Regular Membership $25
Student Membership $0
Life Membership $25
Subscriptions $30

Contact information for the executive members of the Educational Technology Council is provided to assist the ATA in conducting its professional and business affairs.

Upcoming Conference(s)/Congrès à venir

There are no upcoming conferences currently scheduled./Il n'y a aucun congrès de prévu en ce moment.

Educational Technology Council

Council Executive/Comité exécutif

Ryan Layton
Phone (bus): 780-270-0811
Marion Rex
Phone (bus): 780-962-1585 
Fax: 780-962-1588
Danielle Nelson
Phone (bus): 780-964-5204
Jason Thompson
Phone (bus): 403-528-2172
ATA Staff Advisor
Danny Maas
Phone (bus): 780-415-0820 OR 1-800-232-7208
PEC Liaison
Peter MacKay
Phone (bus): 780-512-4268 
Fax: 780-835-4700