Events Calendar

The events calendar lists events sponsored by the Alberta Teachers' Association and its subgroups. The Association plans and approves its annual calendar each June; members only can access the calendar by clicking here.

Other professional development opportunities for teachers.
Calendar
Title and navigation
Title and navigation
<<<May 2021><<
May 2021
 SMTWTFS
182526272829301
192345678
209101112131415
2116171819202122
2223242526272829
23303112345
Date Range:
From:
To:
Keywords:
Results/Page:
Event Location:
Event Type:




Event Sponsors:





 
In Focus: A CSC Virtual Conference
April 30 - May 1, 2021 Add Event to your Calendar
Alberta, Canada
Sponsor(s): The Council of School Counsellors
Contact:  Cathy Kitagawa (Conference Director), cathy.kitagawa@yahoo.com

Outdoor Play: Natures Vaccine
April 30 - May 1, 2021 Add Event to your Calendar
Virtual, Alberta, Canada
Sponsor(s): Health and Physical Education Council/Global Environmental & Outdoor Education Council/The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Court Rustemeyer (GEOEC President), courtrustemeyer@gmail.com OR Jodi Harding-Kuriger (HPEC President), jodi.harding@gmail.com

Author Spotlight: How to Pronounce Knife by: Souvankham Thammavongsa
Virtual, Alberta, Canada
Souvankham Thammavongsa will present a PowerPoint show titled Where a Writer Can Come From, read from HOW TO PRONOUNCE KNIFE, and be available for a live QA with the audience.
Sponsor(s): English as a Second Language Council/The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Lisa Smith (Conference Director), lisa.smith@cssd.ab.ca

Provincial Executive Council
Virtual, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Sponsor(s): The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Shelley Svidal (Assistant to Executive Secretary), shelley.svidal@ata.ab.ca OR Brian Andrais (Associate Executive Secretary), brian.andrais@ata.ab.ca

LET THEM BE HEARD Giving Students Voice
virtual, Alberta, Canada
Shannon McClintock Miller is the Innovation Director of Instructional Technology and Library Media at Van Meter Community School, Iowa. She is an international speaker, consultant and author who has a passion for education, librarianship, advocacy, technology, social media and making a difference. You can read her blog at https:vanmeterlibraryvoice.blogspot.com
Sponsor(s): Alberta School Library Council/The Provincial ATA
Website:  HTTPS://ASLC.CA
Contact:  Lisa Hauk-Meeker (President), lhaukmee@telus.net

LEADERSHIP ESSENTIALS SPEAKER SERIES WEBINAR-David Marquet-Leadership Is Language: The Hidden Power of What You Say--and What You Dont
Alberta, Canada
10:00-11:30 for school leaders. Why do we organize the way we do. Why do we run meetings the way we do. Why do we use the words we use when communicating and asking questions. Turns out, most of us are using language, meeting formats, and organizational design inherited from the industrial age where the leaders were the thinkers and the workers were the doers. In todays work environment, we want every team member to be a thinker and a doer. This makes the industrial age language obsolete. Instead of running industrial age plays better, we need to cast them aside for a new playbook. Marquet explores the origins of our language at work, how it was shaped by the industrial age and the language we want to use in its place. The pattern that is revealed are the 6 plays that leaders run that will optimally balance the rhythm between thinking and doing. Leaders will be equipped to build environments where people think deeply and broadly and work is disciplined and focused. The structure results in adaptive, agile, and enduring organizations in volatile and uncertain times.
Sponsor(s): The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Nikki Cloutier (Administrative Officer, Teacher Employment Services), Nikki.cloutier@ata.ab.ca

Local Communication Officers-Virtual
Alberta, Canada
Sponsor(s): The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Jen Janzen (Communications Officer, Publications and Public Relations), jen.janzen@ata.ab.ca
This is an 'invitation only' listing - participants should receive an invitation to attend this event. Please contact the organizers of this event for additional information.

Annual Representative Assembly ARA-Virtual
May 22 - 24, 2021 Add Event to your Calendar
Alberta, Canada
Sponsor(s): The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Brian Andrais (Associate Executive Secretary), brian.andrais@ata.ab.ca OR Marianne Moffatt (Program Assistant, Government), marianne.moffatt@ata.ab.ca
This is an 'invitation only' listing - participants should receive an invitation to attend this event. Please contact the organizers of this event for additional information.

Local Treasurers Seminar-Virtual
May 28 - 29, 2021 Add Event to your Calendar
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
If you have questions regarding the duties of the Local Treasurer, do not hesitate to contact Didi Heer
Sponsor(s): The Provincial ATA
Contact:  Didi Heer (Accountant, Subgroup Services), didi.heer@ata.ab.ca
This is an 'invitation only' listing - participants should receive an invitation to attend this event. Please contact the organizers of this event for additional information.