The Early Years

The Alberta Teachers' Alliance was established during the First World War, a time when the teaching profession was at a very low ebb in Alberta.

Former Presidents

The Association's first president was George D Misener, who served from 1917 to 1919. Mark Ramsankar, the current president, was elected in 2013.

Former Executive Secretaries

John W Barnett, the Association's first executive secretary, served from 1920 to 1946. Gordon R Thomas has been executive secretary since 2003.

Honorary Members

From time to time, the Association bestows honorary membership on teachers and others who have given meritorious service to the teaching profession or the advancement of education. The first person to be so recognized was Clarence Sansom, who received the honour in 1949.